Top Ten of the week

. . . but it's metallic!

 

That’s an old photograph, and I’m not entirely sure why it’s here, except that I absolutely looooove metallic tempera paint.  And even though I haven’t painted a dang thing all week, it still made it to my Top Ten of the week list (an idea sprung full-blown from my skull when I realized I had virtually nothing to write about again . . . STILL . . .)  

So with no further ado and no explanation whatsoever, and channeling Heath Ledger’s Joker character,  HERE . . . WE . . . GO!  

10.  Sunny on a Cloudy Day Dept.:  PG&E bill was only $136 for December;  let’s hear it for all the extra insulation we blasted into the attic last year;  

9.  Speaking of which:  Brief snippets of sunlight observed through partially open venetian blinds for entire minutes at a time, several times on different days;  

8.  Professionally trained butt-warming cat:  She insinuates herself between my husband’s and my butts  and curls up when we go to bed, remaining inert and brick-like till 5:00 AM;  

7.  Thai restaurant Friday night:  To which we walked from our house, topping off dinners of pad thai and broccoli and chicken with a shared serving of truly sublime mango with sticky rice;  

6.  Special showing of Bright Star featuring a luminous Abbie Cornish and swoon-worthy Ben Whishaw (yes, even elf-like males can earn this distinction);  

5.  Intriguing-Inspiring-Educational Dept.:  Brilliant Harvard neuroanatomist Jill Bolte Taylor’s My Stroke of Insight, a firsthand account of the massive hemorrhagic stroke that shut down the left hemisphere of her brain, and her amazing recovery;  

4.  Metallic tempera:  If a paint could be swoon-worthy, this would be, especially the coppery, bronze-y, goldish colors, which inexplicably make me want to paint hieroglyphics all day;  

3.  Bulbous foliage:  the greenery–and lots of it–that presages spring blossoms; we’ll have a load of freesias, daffodils, and irises this year;  

2.  All the way from the north side of our house, we bring you delectable navel oranges:  Have you ever looked at a juicy, dripping slice of orange in sunlight?  I did today, and all of the little veins reminded me of butterfly wings.  Beauteous thing, it was;  

1.  New snowshoes!  Speaking of goldish, metallic, and ready to rock some crusty snow in the Sierras . . .   

Later!

About creat1ve11

psychotherapist by trade, writer and artist by temperament, over 50 and not fighting it, love the idea of snorting milk through my nose, but have never actually done it
This entry was posted in art, beauty, creativity, culture, mindfulness, Reflecting, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Top Ten of the week

  1. sensit says:

    You may find it interesting to read Buddhism-influenced review of My Stroke of Insight by Dr Jill Bolte Taylor

    http://sensit.wordpress.com/2009/12/13/my-stroke-of-insight-by-jill-bolte-taylor/

    • creat1ve11 says:

      Thank you for the link! I did read it, as well as some of the comments on the review. My take on it is similar to your own, and that of Patricia (comment preceding yours). I also found Dr. Taylor’s use of “New Age” lingo somewhat off-putting at times. Still, however simplistic, I appreciate her message and don’t doubt her sincerity in communicating it. Is it self-indulgent or egotistical as the reviewer suggests? Possibly. But if it proves helpful to even a handful of people who hear it, it is worth the telling.

Leave a Reply

