Under the snow . . .

If there were actual snow where I am, which there’s not, so let’s just imagine . . .   under the snow there ‘d be crocuses and bulbs ever so close to unfurling into daffodils, freesia, tulips . . .

My lack of posts recently has mostly to do with a period of creative, emotional, and spiritual flux.  The good thing about flux is that it usually indicates growth, change, evolution.  That’s the case here, but I can’t articulate it meaningfully while I’m in the thick of it.  (Further on down the road, I expect.)

So I’m just checking in, is all. 

BUT.  Winging its way to me at this very moment is a new batch of glitter paint, and some blue pearlescent tempera, the better to throw at my well-papered easel when I find myself gripped in the throes of intuitive painting. 

AND.  I actually found the first daffodil in our front yard this week. 

BESIDES WHICH.  I’ve been to Isabel’s for brunch (Sunday) and dinner (tonight) this week, and all of my favorite waiters were there.  In fact, because we left him such a good tip the last time he served us, the Zen waiter threw in a gargantuan brownie for free.  Gotta love him.

FINALLY, it was suggested to me recently by someone I greatly respect that perhaps art (for me) is a form of prayer.  Can’t say why, but that has been hugely comforting of late . . . a gift and a blessing . . . and I am grateful.

Six more weeks of winter, but that’s okay.  When the sun comes back I’m having a parTAY . . .

G’night.

About creat1ve11

psychotherapist by trade, writer and artist by temperament, over 50 and not fighting it, love the idea of snorting milk through my nose, but have never actually done it
This entry was posted in art, creativity, life, nature, Reflecting, the universe and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Under the snow . . .

  1. slamdunk says:

    Glad you had your first flower plant sighting–not so fortunate here.

  2. creat1ve11 says:

    We’ve been having early blooms the last two or three years, possibly due to unusually warm weather. Kind of a bummer; last year I think almost all of our bulbs bloomed by the middle to end of March. They used to last well into April…

  3. chris zydel says:

    By Jove, I think she’s GOT it! Yup… prayer it most certainly is!!

    Loving reading all your musings and meanderings as you play so masterfully with the written word.

    Love from a proud mama

    • creat1ve11 says:

      Thank you! I just realized that you’re actually having a week-long retreat on spirituality and painting (or creativity?) in April. As usual, you’re barking up the exact tree I happen to be perched in. If I didn’t already have a vacation planned that month, I would go. I hope you have another one, maybe a 2- or 3-day sometime?

Leave a Reply

