SIX DEGREES OF MARTIN DOCKERY

Imagine my surprise when I was checking on how many views my blog has had over the last couple of days, and I clicked on an URL for a recent visitor and was blasted over to the press/reviews page on M(artin) D(ockery)’s website.  (D’ya think I should call him “MD”?  It feels stupid to keep referring to him by his full name, but I don’t like the impersonalization of using just his last name.  And he doesn’t know me, so using his first name only would suggest a familiarity/relationship that does not exist. Ach mein!  This may be the toughest decision of my week . . .   Hard to believe I’m a mental health professional   . . . heh heh . . . )

As I was saying before my unnecessarily long parenthetical remark, I ended up on MD’s website, and as I scrolled down the press page, imagine my surprise² when I discovered my blog name in large letters, followed by a couple of my quotes about MD and Wanderlust, and a link back to my blog.  My first reaction was “What the fuh…?” followed by “Who did this?” and ultimately, “Well, so, yeah–okay, tha’s cool.”  And, y’know . . . it is cool, in a weird alternate-universe sort of way, or maybe it’s weird in kind of cool way.  I dunno. 

THEN (come along and journey with me through my fantastically neurotic thought process) . . . I thought, “Hey, so nobody asked me if  they could quote my blog on MD’s press page.”  And for a brief moment, I was slightly miffed.  But my next thoughts were (a) that’s life on the Internet, and (b) this could be good karma, like–y’know–what comes around goes around, that kind of thing.  Finally, ultimately, I’m good with it.  And although this probably really isn’t applicable at all, for some reason it reminded me of that Six Degrees of Kevin Bacon game.

So even when I stop mentioning him on this blog, MD should appreciate the fact that he has attained iconic, initials-only status here, in the heady company of MK, the best damned songwriter on this planet (who else could–or would–write not just a song, but a great song, about Scooter Libby being hung out to dry by Bush and Co. [“Punish the Monkey”]?).  In my humble opinion, of course. 

Oh yeah, and the Art or Evidence? countdown for MK’s concert in Santa Rosa has begun . . . (coming up on April 14th, and may I just say YAAAAAAHOOOOO! ?)

. . . and so forth . . .

About creat1ve11

psychotherapist by trade, writer and artist by temperament, over 50 and not fighting it, love the idea of snorting milk through my nose, but have never actually done it
This entry was posted in and everything, blogging, creativity, life, music, politics, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to SIX DEGREES OF MARTIN DOCKERY

  1. If only more people could hear about this..

  2. Susan Hunter says:

    If only more than 26 people could hear about this!

    • creat1ve11 says:

      Spread the word! Dockery performs all over the country at fringe festivals, etc. Send your friends and acquaintances to his website, and tell them to do the same . . .

Leave a Reply

